USDA NIFA Southern Regional Aquaculture Center

Photo of the SRAC logo

Mississippi State University is host institution for the Southern Regional Aquaculture Center (SRAC), one of five regional aquaculture centers established by Congress. SRAC began organizational activities in 1987, and the first research and Extension projects were initiated in 1988. The thirteen states and two territories included in the Southern Region are Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, and Virginia. Projects that are developed and funded by SRAC are based on industry needs and are designed to directly impact commercial aquaculture development in the Southern Region.

Learn more about SRAC here.

Contact Information

USDA NIFA Southern Regional Aquaculture Center
National Warmwater Aquaculture Center
P.O. Box 38
Stoneville, MS 38776
Phone: 662.686.3269
Fax: 662.686.3320
Dr. Jimmy Avery, Director
Kristen Thompson, Business Manager